"Unverinnerlicht" 

2015. Installation I Performance

 

Concept, stage, sculpture, performance:  Naoko Tanaka

Musical collaboration: Luca Fogagnolo

Dramaturgical collaboration: Adam Czirak

Performance: Alise Michon

Technical direction, set:  Thomas Lehmen

Lighting plan, technics: Felix Grimm

Assistance: Finn Leon Cam, Marie Golüke

Production management: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro

 

Duration: 50 min.

Production:  Naoko Tanaka

Co-production: SOPHIENSÆLE (Berlin)

Support: Senate Department for Culture and Europe, PACT Zollverein (Essen), Kunststiftung NRW

​Video-Dokumentation: Heiko Rahnenführer

What lies behind, between, and around our memories? A space populated by the un-internalized. We find ourselves in spheres of images, emotions, things visible and invisible. We are surrounded by dark expanses, where shadows take on immense weight. 

Naoko Tanaka’s new work invites spectators to try and envisage the present as memory, to set loose in the sea of lost images. Her choreography of light takes us into our ‘inner outside world’ and traces the spatial and temporal boundaries of the imagination. Un-internalized fragments swarm into view, become material, manifest, take shape as plastic poetry. As if viewed from the lonely perspective of a child keenly experiencing the world, the objects float, bob up and down, and circle us in changing states of deformation and flux. 

 

„In places where reason cannot penetrate, I imagine that all forgotten, unmemorable, and un-internalized experiences can still take shape.”(Naoko Tanaka)

 

„...Eswathes of canvas circle the room, the same kind of canvas that usually offers painters a stable, secure support for their works. But Tanaka’s canvases dance. The perspectives change. Like light cast onto a nô mask to variously give the impression of joy or of mourning, she uses light like a brush—a brush that paints with perspective. Tanaka’s new piece was created on a residency in Japan. In Germany former sites of industry, like the Ruhr, are converted into cultural venues for such spectacles as the European Capital of Culture. In Japan, due to the country’s shifting demographics, the new converted art spaces are schools.In one such school Tanaka found chairs for six-year-olds, changed their construction and outline. The shadows they cast translate the manipulated forms back into real chairs. Reality is manipulated, but the spectator’s stoic eye transforms what it sees back into familiar forms. Naoko Tanaka counteracts this process, moving her own body around the stage like a spotlight. As a bearer of light, she dances with such precision that she is able to illuminate not her own body, but our imaginations...“

- Arnd Wesemann  - TANZ /03/2015

 

Tour

 

​22.&23.06.2017 // PACT Zollverein, Essen

11.&12.02.2017 // Sophiensaele, Berlin

02.12.2015 // ND’T Performing Arts Festival, Parma, Italy 

29.03.2015 / PACT Zollverein, Essen 

11.,12.,13.&14.02.2015 / SOPHIENSAELE, Berlin 

 

© 2019 Naoko Tanaka

"Unverinnerlicht" 

Konzept, Bühnenbild, Skulptur, Performance:  Naoko Tanaka

Musikalische Kollaboration: Luca Fogagnolo

Dramaturgische Kollaboration: Adam Czirak

Performance: Alise Michon

Technische Leitung, Bühnenbild: Thomas Lehmen

Lichtplanung, Technik: Felix Grimm

Assistenz: Finn Leon Cam, Marie Golüke

Produktionsleitung: ehrliche arbeit — freies Kulturbüro

Video-Dokumentation | Heiko Rahnenführer

 

Dauer: ca. 50 Minuten

Produktion:  Naoko Tanaka

Koproduktion: SOPHIENSÆLE (Berlin)

Gefördert durch: Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, PACT Zollverein (Essen), Kunststiftung NRW

Was befindet sich hinter, zwischen und um unsere Erinnerungen herum? Es eröffnet sich hier ein Raum, der erfüllt ist vom Unerinnerlichen. Wir geraten in Sphären von Bildern, Unsichtbarkeiten, Dingen, Emotionen und sind von Dunkelzonen umgeben, in denen die Schatten ein unermessliches Gewicht erlangen. 

Naoko Tanakas neue Arbeit lädt zum Versuch ein, sich die Gegenwart als Erinnerung vorzustellen, im Meer verlorener Bilder zu schwimmen. Ihre Licht-Choreographie führt in die „innere Außenwelt” und tastet nach den besonderen räumlichen und zeitlichen Grenzen der Vorstellung. Unerinnertes drängt sich auf, wird materiell, manifest, es formt sich zur plastischen Poesie. Wie aus der einsamen Perspektive eines Kindes betrachtet, die Welt in direkter Resonanz erlebend schwanken, schweben, kreisen die Objekte in Zuständen der Verformung und Bewegung. 

 

„Dort, wo unser Verstand nicht hinein reicht, imaginiere ich, dass alle von uns vergessenen, nicht erinnerbaren und unverinnerlichten Erfahrungen dennoch eine Gestalt finden können.”(Naoko Tanaka)

 

„...Eine Leinwand umkreist den Raum, eben jene Leinwand, die Malern sonst einen stabilen, sicheren Grund bietet. Aber ihre Leinwand tanzt. Und verändert die Sichtweisen. Wie Licht auf einer Nô-Maske dieser mal den Anschein von Freude, mal von Trauer verleiht, ist ihr Licht ein Pinsel. Es malt mit Perspektiven. Tanakas neues Stück entstand während eines Stipendiums in Japan. Bei uns werden Industrieanlagen zu Kulturstätten umgebaut. In Japan sind es Schulen, die man wegen der Bevölkerungsentwicklung zu Kunsträumen deklariert. Dort fand sie Stühle für Sechsjährige, gestaltete sie um, änderte deren Fluchtlinien. Die Schatten übersetzen die Manipulation wieder zurück in reale Stühle. Die Realität wird manipuliert, stoisch aber übersetzt das Auge alles wieder zurück ins Gewohnte. Naoko Tanaka hält dagegen, sie bewegt ihren eigenen Körper wie ein Spotlight. Sie tanzt so präzise, dass sie als Lichtträgerin stets genau den Blick erzeugen kann, der eben nicht auf ihren Körper, sondern auf unsere eigene Einbildung zurückfällt..“

- Arnd Wesemann  - TANZ /03/2015

 

Tourdaten

 

​22.&23.06.2017 // PACT Zollverein, Essen

11.&12.02.2017 // Sophiensaele, Berlin

02.12.2015 // ND’T Performing Arts Festival, Parma, Italy 

29.03.2015 / PACT Zollverein, Essen 

11.,12.,13.&14.02.2015 / SOPHIENSAELE, Berlin 

 

© 2019 Naoko Tanaka